Home > Uncategorized > Perspectives

Perspectives

So when I was talking on TeamSpeak last Sunday, I claimed “I wouldn’t know what to write in a blog, I barely ever have anything interesting to write about”. To this, KashmirZ replied: “Oh, yes you have…” I guess he was right, I think it’s more about what kind of blog you’re using. Because it gave you one automatically, I initially used the “MSN Spaces” thing which turned out to be a steaming pile of shit that 1) could barely be customised to my liking, 2) only worked with IE6 and 3) could only be viewed by people who had .Net passports. Myspace is also obviously totally out of the question. A blog like this, however, can be made into whatever you want.

So, today I was in my “Etik- och livsfrågor” course, which roughly translates into “Ethics and existentialism”. A course I guess would be perfect for me if there was more variation in the different views of people in the classroom. In my class, however, egoistic humanism seems to the general worldview. This is of course a very probable scenario when in a group of 17-18 year olds in Sweden, but this poses a problem for me as I might not have the most politically correct of opinions, at least not in this country. Basically I tried to elaborate on whatever questions we discussed where my views were similar to those of the others. On the others, as the observer I am, I sat still and listened to what the others said and bet on exactly what words they were going to say. It all sounds so programmed when you think about it.

For example, we started with three questions: 1) How can you control your own life, 2) How can you as an individual influence other people’s lives, and 3) How can you get the most out of your life? I think we all agreed on the first two questions, but on the third, while I thought “Well, this is one of the most debated question in the history of mankind”, the others were like “Well, let’s see, which ones are there?” and gives a list of some things all the popular psychologists say, and then says “It’s really the same as the first question, if you control your life and do everything you want in life, you’ll be happy”. I didn’t even feel like saying anything against that, I should’ve expected it. It would’ve been much better if there was like a pissed off Muslim in my class, then you don’t have to work so hard on weighing your words when presenting the Christian viewpoint, because the Muslims will always be the bad guys on those arguments anyways, looking from the agnostics’ points of views.

So yeah, now I have 6,5 hours of break, as I will have every Wednesday for the next 3 months. At least one blog update per week, that is… Now I’m waiting for my Mario Kart DS and my USB WiFi Connector that I ordered of eBay, and then I hope I’ll be able to get WiFi access somehow in school, then I’ll never complain about too long breaks again, ever. Until then, I’m going to try to beat the 10th and (maybe) last level of Space Invaders Revolutions, which is harder than you might think ;/

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. KashmirZ
    August 30, 2006 at 10:17

    Yeah those conversations always give real insight to a persons character i find, quite often showing if they are prone to propaganda i have found…

    Mind you wish we had decent classes like that when i was in highschool i might of actually enjoyed it :S

    SPACE INVADERS FTW

    ~v~

  2. janey
    August 30, 2006 at 12:12

    “It’s really the same as the first question, if you control your life and do everything you want in life, you’ll be happy”.

    Depends what you value in life. Unexpected things beyond your control can always happen. It’s how you react to those things and how you appreciate/tolerate the mundane things that defines you IMO.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

