Home > Uncategorized > Now

Now

Have you ever stopped yourself and thought of how many of the things we do are because of behaviour we force ourselves to have? The past 30 minutes or so I’ve been aimlessly walking around in school an attempt to “have something to do”. Then as I looked at the clock to see when my bus leaves, I just stopped and thought “What if I just stop trying desperately to find a way to spend my time, and just let myself be for the few remaining minutes? This is something I find myself have trouble with constantly… I mean, I do enjoy thinking, reflecting etc, but I think I let myself do it in a way that isn’t relaxed at all.

Basically, I think a lot of western human minds are conditioned to constantly look to the future, to constantly be in control of what we should be doing next. I think this is the whole point of religions like Buddhism, that we’ve just recently started to work with. I’ve always been incredibly sceptical with the religion Buddhism, but I do get the primary concern they have with our world, which is that us humans are waaay too concerned with what we want, a constant need to feel happy, a constant chase after what we already have, the grass is ALWAYS greener on the other side.

I’m starting to realize, and all the while I still hate most of the organized religion Buddhism, that they do have a point. We need to enjoy the now, instead of *constantly* longing for the tomorrow. Stop in your mind to contantly find things about your current situation that is making you enjoy it less. If you start thinking about your situation in terms of what you like about it instead of what you dislike about it, it’ll make your a happier and healthier person.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. CheeseStorm
    April 16, 2008 at 08:15

    Good post. It’s weird how we try to experience reality through words instead of directly, just by being, like you said.

    You might like the book “The Power of Now”. The author talks about how most people spend their entire lives treating the present moment like an obstacle to hurdle over. Uses a lot of teachings from Jesus and the Buddha to make his points clear.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

