Home > Theology > The Lord is gracious and compassionate

The Lord is gracious and compassionate

The latest entry I made (in Swedish, no less), was made in July. As I’ve mentioned many times before, I am a person who is very concerned that my words are quality, not quantity. I do not always live up to that, but when it comes to things like my blog, I could never blog in the way others do. If I did, I would have to live my entire life thinking in terms of blog entries. Of course, that is indeed what many people do…

Regardless, I have thought many times when I have posted to my blog in the past year that the title and byline of the blog doesn’t really fit its content any more. It also doesn’t really justify my focus in life anymore. While the new title may seem a bit lame, I really can’t think of a good name. Feel free to come up with a good one, and I’ll think about it. Either way, the point is that “Gaming, Metal and ‘Existentialism'” isn’t the focus of my life anymore. I don’t even think I knew what the common meaning of “Existentialism” was when I made that byline 3 years ago. Right now, my heart, soul strength and mind are set on one thing: The Lord God Almighty! With Him as the real center of my life, it has changed and is radically changing my life on every level imaginable, and yet I see every day how many things I was made to do that I had been forsaking in favour of worthless or inferior desires, bonds and ideas. This does not mean I might not post about gaming or metal, but I am recognizing that the place of those things is in the service of my God!

So. I have been back in Johannelund, Uppsala, since August 19th, studying theology. It would take a lot of time to tell of all the things God has done with me and others here, but in short, it’s great! I have finished my Old Testament course, with very good grades.

The interpretation I wrote was apparently the best in the class, so it was quite an encouragement to hear. You see, my problem with school since I started “gymnasiet” (10th grade) and the IB, has been that I fail to see the real point in my writing. I feel like what I write has no real meaning to anyone else, except for some vague sense self-development gained by repetition of useless things. As such, I have only written maybe 4-5 things in the past 4 years that I have been proud of. When I started reading theology, I finally felt like I had genuinely important and useful things to say and add to enrichen people’s lives, and understanding of God. What can give greater joy? If you want to read my interpretation, it’s available here (Swedish). I won’t translate it, but here is a link to the same page run through Google Translate, if you really care, it gives you a good idea of what I did, at least 😛

Basically, in the past few months, God has begun using my gift to interpret, explain and teach – from the Bible and from life in general. It’s becoming clear that it is a form of serving others and the Lord that as valuable as healing, evangelism and prophesying. I say “as” important, because even if some may be more important than others, they all add to the whole of the Body of Christ.

For the body does not consist of one member but of many.

If the foot should say, “Because I am not a hand, I do not belong to the body,” that would not make it any less a part of the body. And if the ear should say, “Because I am not an eye, I do not belong to the body,” that would not make it any less a part of the body. If the whole body were an eye, where would be the sense of hearing? If the whole body were an ear, where would be the sense of smell?

But as it is, God arranged the members in the body, each one of them, as he chose. If all were a single member, where would the body be? As it is, there are many parts, yet one body. The eye cannot say to the hand, “I have no need of you,” nor again the head to the feet, “I have no need of you.”

On the contrary, the parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable, and on those parts of the body that we think less honorable we bestow the greater honor, and our unpresentable parts are treated with greater modesty, which our more presentable parts do not require. But God has so composed the body, giving greater honor to the part that lacked it, that there may be no division in the body, but that the members may have the same care for one another. If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together.

Now you are the body of Christ and individually members of it.
(1 Corinthians 12:14-27, English Standard Version)

I wanted to pretty much quote all of 1 Cor 12 and go into 13 as well here, but just read 1 Corinthians yourselves! It’s awesome! I love His Word, and I love His body, i.e. His beloved children! Thank you Lord for giving us all these different gifts and talents, that we may praise You with all that we have been given, for Your glory’s sake and that Your kingdom may be enlarged through us!

  1. Ygaen Hansen
    November 8, 2009 at 18:02

    Sorry for the directly related question, but do you know where I can buy a Lutheran Service Book in Swedish? I live in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

